Research Guides: Health Studies: Statistics

Statistical Databases

Sage Data, powered by Data Planet This link opens in a new window
Find, visualize, and share billions of U.S. and international statistics from trusted sources that cover business, crime, health, labor and more. This collection contains mostly U.S., as well as some international, statistics on economic and social indicators, with built-in tools for creating data visualizations, charts and maps. Continuous updates for daily, weekly, monthly, and annual datasets are provided as data is released by the source providers.
ICPSR (Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research) This link opens in a new window
Access social science data from around the world for research and instruction, and training in quantitative methods to facilitate effective data use. Coverage: varies, contains primary sources. Mostly full text.
PolicyMap This link opens in a new window
Access an online United States national data and mapping tool with multidisciplinary applications. This tool provides data related to social sciences, urban studies, real estate and housing analysis, community and economic development, public administration, public health, policy and political science, education, business, economics, statistics, and geography, among others. Leverage U.S. data indicators to perform demographic and socioeconomic analysis, from a neighborhood census block group, up to a national level, as well as custom-created regions. Coverage: varies, contains primary sources. Full text. See our PolicyMap guide to get started: https://libguides.dickinson.edu/policymapguide
Statistical Insight (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Search for statistical data and publications summarizing statistical findings, including data collected from United States federal and state government sources, private organizations, and intergovernmental organizations. This collection features descriptive abstracts and detailed indexing. Coverage: 1970 to present. Some full text.

Dartmouth Atlas of Health Care

For more than 20 years, the Dartmouth Atlas Project has documented glaring variations in how medical resources are distributed and used in the United States. The project uses Medicare and Medicaid data to provide information and analysis about national, regional, and local markets, as well as hospitals and their affiliated physicians.

Statistics Included in Journal Articles

PubMed (with Dickinson Links) includes references to journal articles, but many of these are research articles that may include statistics. Add the word "statistics" to your topic search (for example, asthma AND statistics) to find journal articles which include statistics.

Disability Statistics & Fact Sheets

Annual Disability Statistics Compendium
"a web-based tool that pools disability statistics published by various [U.S.] federal agencies together in one place"
CDC Data and Statistics on Disability
CDC Summary Statistics on Disability and Functioning (Adults)
U.S. Census Bureau on Disability
The U.S. Census Bureau website contains the latest disability data, what's new, explains how the information is gathered, and offers other related links.
United Nations' Fact Sheet on Persons with Disabilities
US Disability Statistics
An interactive search tool by Cornell University about US Disability Statistics. Can search by employment rate, annual earnings, health insurance, etc.
World Health Organization Disability and Health Fact Sheet

Guides for Finding More Statistics

Evaluating Data & Statistics

Savvy Info Consumers: Data & Statistics
Provides a strategy and questions to ask yourself when evaluating data, statistics, and infographics.
more...less...
From University of Washington Libraries.

State & Local Health Statistics

County Health Rankings and Roadmaps
The County Health Rankings measure the health of nearly all counties in the nation and rank them within states. The Rankings are compiled using county-level measures from a variety of national and state data sources. Sponsored by the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation.
Pennsylvania Department of Health Statistics
Pennsylvania State Data Center
"The Commonwealth's official source of demographic and economic data."
State Health Facts (KFF)
Statistics compiled for all 50 states on a variety of health topics, insurance, healthcare financing, etc. Allows for viewing of comparative date between states.
Stats of the States (CDC)
Major CDC statistics for individual U.S. states.

U.S. National Health Statistics

National Center for Health Statistics
Census Bureau - Health
The U.S. Census Bureau produces statistics on prevalence of disability and fertility, the percentages of people with and without health insurance (down to the county level), the expenses and investments made by health care establishments, as well as data on international HIV/AIDS and health care access for other agencies.
Centers for Disease Control WONDER
Wide-ranging OnLine Data for Epidemiologic Research
Childstats.gov
CMS Data Navigator
Menu-driven search tool that makes the data and information resources of the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) more easily available. Use to find data for Medicare and Medicaid, or on specific health care topics or settings-of-care. Navigator displays search results by data type making it easier to locate specific types of information (e.g., data files, publications, statistical reports, etc.).
Consumer Assessment of Healthcare Providers and Systems (CAHPS)
"Surveys & tools to advance patient centered care." From the Agency for Healthcare Research & Quality
HCUPnet (Agency for Healthcare Research & Quality)
HCUPnet is a free, on-line query system based on data from the Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project (HCUP). It provides access to health statistics and information on hospital inpatient and emergency department utilization.
Health, United States
Annual report on trends in health statistics from the U.S. Dept. of Health & Human Services. Reports from 1975 to present are available, including charts, as well as Excel tables from 1995 onward.
Health Information National Trends Survey [on Cancer] (HINTS)
"HINTS collects nationally representative data routinely about the American public's use of cancer-related information."
National Longitudinal Study of Adolescent Health (Add Health)
Status of Women in the States
From the not-for-profit Institute for Women's Policy Research.
Substance Abuse and Mental Health Data (SAMHSA)
The Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) is the agency within the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services that leads public health efforts to advance the behavioral health of the nation. SAMHSA's mission is to reduce the impact of substance abuse and mental illness on America's communities.

International Health Statistics

Global Public Health Statistical Sources (directory)
from University of Michigan Health Sciences Libraries
Global SDG Indicators Database
Provides access to data on progress towards the United Nations Sustainable Development Goals.
International Programs (Census Bureau)
The U.S. Census Bureau conducts demographic, economic, and geographic studies of other countries and strengthens statistical development around the world.
National Statistical Offices
Links to statistical agencies of United Nation member countries.
NationMaster Statistics
Comparative international statistics.
OECD Statistics
From the Organization for Economic Co-operation & Development. Data, charts, maps, tables and related publications.
United Nations Data Explorer
Useful portal for linking directly to downloadable data sets from various UN agencies, WHO, OECD, World Bank, etc.
United Nations Statistics - Health & Disability
Direct link to UN statistics page focused on Health and Disability data and reports.
United Nations Statistics Division
World Bank Health Data
Data at WHO

Waidner-Spahr Library

Health Studies: Statistics

Health Data Tools and Statistics (Portal)