Research Guides: Reviews: Book, Film & Theatre: Theatre Reviews

Theatre Reviews

A theater review is a critical evaluation of a performance, usually published in periodicals such as journals and newspapers. A theater review relects the reviewer's opinion or recommendation about the work. Scholarly reviews may be based on research and literary criticism.

Theatre Review Journals and Periodicals

Asian Theatre Journal
1984 - present
Canadian Theatre Review
1997 - present
Contemporary Theatre Review
1992 - present
Latin American Theatre Review
1967 - present
TDR (older issues)
from 1967 to 1987
TDR (The Drama Review)
1988 - Present
Theatre Journal
1979 - present
Theatre Record
2005 - present

Theatre Review Indexes

An index is a specialized database that organizes information about the locations of articles in journals/magazines, reports and newspapers; and book chapters, papers in conference proceedings, and book reviews.

Indexes provide the complete bibliographic citation of an article, including the title of the article, author, name of the journal, volume number, the pages of the journal in which the article can be found, and a short summary, or abstract, of the article.
Some indexes are in book form, and some are electronic databases. Some eletronic databases do NOT provide the complete text of articles.

Electronic Resources:

Humanities Source This link opens in a new window
Access journals, books and other published sources from around the world in all aspects of the humanities, including archaeology, area studies, art, classical studies, dance, film, gender studies, history, journalism, linguistics, literature, music, performing arts, philosophy, and religion. For citation searching: click "Cited References" at the top of the search screen. Coverage: late 1800s to present. Some full text.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Explore historical and recent journals, books and images in the arts, humanities, and social sciences, with some natural science coverage. Coverage: varies - historical up to 1-5 years from current date, contains primary sources. Full text.
Literary Index (Gale Literary Sets) This link opens in a new window
Search a master index to the major literature books published by Gale, including Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism, and Poetry Criticism. Coverage: historical to present. Citations only.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Access newspapers from around the world, plus a wealth of legal, business, medical, and reference information. This collection includes news; cases; statutes & legislation; law reviews & journals; administrative codes & regulations; company and financial data (SEC Filings, company profiles, etc.); and government, legal, and business directories. Coverage: varies but mostly mid-19th century to current, contains primary sources. Mostly full text.
MLA International Bibliography (Modern Language Association) with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Search for scholarly, international journals, books, and more, covering language, literature, composition, folklore, and film. Coverage: late 19th century to present. Some full text.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Access scholarly journals and ebooks in both the humanities and social sciences. Most journals covered are up to date. Ebooks include titles in Global Cultural Studies, Poetry, Fiction & Creative Non-Fiction. Coverage: historical and current. Full text.

Waidner-Spahr Library

Reviews: Book, Film & Theatre: Theatre Reviews

Theatre Reviews

Theatre Review Journals and Periodicals

Theatre Review Indexes