Skip to main content

Waidner-Spahr Library

Collections Guidelines: Print Titles in JSTOR

Current Practice at Waidner-Spahr Library

JSTOR logoThe Waidner-Spahr Library has purchased access to fifteen JSTOR collections of journals (Arts & Sciences I through XI and XIII, the Life Sciences Collection, the Language & Literature Collection, and the Jewish Studies Archives Collection). 

JSTOR has such a strong preservation program, and their online content is of such high quality and so preferable to our users that after consulting with faculty in Fall 2014, the Library established the practice of withdrawing most print duplicate issues once they are available full-text in JSTOR. The Library does retain print copies of specific journals as needed to meet pedagogical and research purposes, upon request of faculty. These journals are listed on this page under Titles Retained in Print.

Mission of JSTOR: Long-Term Preservation

JSTOR is a shared digital library of academic journals created in 1995 to help libraries to free space on their shelves, save costs, and provide greater levels of access to more content. By digitizing to high standards and supporting long-term preservation, JSTOR aims to help libraries and publishers of scholarly content transition their collections and publishing activities from print to digital operations.

The following information about JSTOR's pricing models and committment to long-term preservation is condensed & adapted from information available on the JSTOR website.

JSTOR's Non-Profit, Sustainable Fee Structure

JSTOR is not-for-profit.  Fee models are designed to provide the broadest possible access to scholarship while also ensuring that access is reliable and that it will be available for future generations. We pay a one-time “archive capital fee” when we purchase a JSTOR collection, and then pay modest annual access fees. Our library’s payment is based on the size of our institution.  

JSTOR's Commitment to High Digitization Standards & Redundancy for Preservation

JSTOR creates digital content such that it can be readily converted to newer formats in the future.  JSTOR has developed a sophisticated content model and XML metadata scheme into which the structure of the content and its bibliographic metadata are encoded.  High quality PDFs are available for articles, including color PDFs (e.g., Bradley: His Book by William H. Bradley, graphic artist).  To protect against loss, JSTOR has established three redundant data centers each housing a complete copy of the JSTOR Digital Library.  In the extremely unlikely event that JSTOR should cease operations, funds will be transferred to a third-party steward. Third-party digital repositories would be selected for their high technical standards, the ability to foster cooperation among stakeholders while maintaining knowledge of the legal environment, scrupulous digital rights management, a strong commitment to preservation, as well as financial stability.

JSTOR Preserves Original Print Materials

JSTOR works with institutions knowledgeable in the preservation of paper to store multiple copies of the original print publications underlying the archives so that they are available for re-digitization as well as other unanticipated needs. The California Digital Library and Harvard Depository act as paper repositories for JSTOR.  For print and other materials included in JSTOR from rare and special or private collections, originals are preserved by the owning libraries, societies, museums, or other organizations and individuals.

JSTOR Titles Retained in Print

Per the request of faculty members, the following titles will be retained in print:

  • African Arts
  • American Antiquity
  • American Art
  • American Quarterly
  • American Studies (Lawrence)
  • American Studies International
  • American Zoologist
  • Antioch Review (The)
  • Archaeology
  • Arion (Boston)
  • Art Bulletin (The) (New York, N.Y.)
  • Art Journal (New York)
  • Artibus Asiae
  • Artnews
  • Black Scholar (The)
  • Botanical Review (The)
  • British Journal for the History of Science (The)
  • Bulletin - Metropolitan Museum of Art
  • Burlington Magazine
  • College Mathematics Journal (The)
  • Comparative Drama
  • Critical Inquiry
  • German Quarterly (The)
  • Gesta
  • Greece and Rome
  • Hudson Review (The)
  • Human Ecology : an Interdisciplinary Journal
  • Huntington Library Quarterly
  • International Journal for Philosophy of Religion
  • Journal of Aesthetic Education (The)
  • Journal of Aesthetics and Art Criticism (The)
  • Journal of Animal Ecology (The)
  • Journal of Ecology (The)
  • Journal of Paleontology
  • Journal of the Abraham Lincoln Association
  • Journal of the Society of Architectural Historians
  • Kenyon Review (The)
  • Massachusetts Review (The)
  • Master Drawings
  • Math Horizons
  • Mathematics Magazine
  • Mathematics Teacher (The)
  • October
  • Oikos
  • Pacific Arts
  • Pacific Arts Newsletter
  • Pennsylvania History
  • Pennsylvania Magazine of History and Biography (The)
  • Poetry (Chicago)
  • Proceedings of the American Philosophical Society
  • Public Historian (The)
  • Representations
  • Salmagundi (Saratoga Springs)
  • Signs: Journal of Women in Culture and Society
  • Sixteenth Century Journal (The)
  • Speculum
  • Studies in Romanticism
  • Victorian Studies
  • Virginia Magazine of History and Biography (The)
  • Women's Review of Books (The)
  • Zeitschrift fur Kunstgeschichte

[Updated 2/4/2015]

Print Not Retained Locally if Online in JSTOR

The following print titles have complete or partial holdings overlap with JSTOR, and multiple digital and print copies are permanently archived through JSTOR's preservation program. Following consultation with faculty in Fall 2014, print duplicates of these titles will not be retained once they are permanently archived and available through JSTOR. 

  • AAUP Bulletin
  • Academe (Washington. 1979)
  • ALA Bulletin
  • Alternatives: Global, Local, Political
  • American Journal of Botany
  • American Journal of Comparative Law (The)
  • American Journal of Economics and Sociology (The)
  • American Journal of Education
  • American Journal of Legal History (The)
  • American Journal of Psychology (The)
  • American Journal of Sociology (The)
  • American Journal of Theology & Philosophy
  • American Literary Realism, 1870-1910
  • American Presbyterians
  • Anales de la Literatura Española Contemporánea
  • Annals of the American Academy of Political and Social Science (The)
  • Annals of the Association of American Geographers
  • Anthropological Quarterly
  • Archaeological Reports
  • AV Communication Review
  • Biennial Review of Anthropology
  • Black Perspective in Music
  • Boletín de Antropología Americana
  • Books Abroad
  • Bridges (Seattle, Wash.)
  • Brookings Review (The)
  • Bryologist (The)
  • Bulletin of Friends Historical Association (The)
  • Bulletin of the American Association of University Professors
  • Business & Professional Ethics Journal
  • Business History Review
  • Cambridge Opera Journal
  • Canadian Journal of Political Science
  • Canadian Slavonic Papers
  • Challenge (White Plains)
  • Change (New Rochelle, N.Y.)
  • Change in Higher Education
  • Chasqui
  • Chaucer Review (The)
  • Child Development
  • China Journal (The) (Canberra, A.C.T.)
  • Chronology of International Events
  • Classical Antiquity
  • Clearing House (The)
  • Cognition and Instruction
  • Comparative Education Review
  • Comparative Literature
  • Comparative Politics
  • Computers and the Humanities
  • Conservation Biology
  • Cultural Anthropology
  • Current Anthropology
  • Current Directions in Psychological Science : a Journal of the American Psychological Society
  • Early American Literature
  • Eastern economic Journal
  • Eastern European Economics
  • Econometrics Journal (The)
  • Environmental Health Perspectives
  • Environmental History
  • Estuaries
  • Estuaries and Coasts
  • Europe-Asia Studies
  • Foreign Affairs (New York, N.Y.)
  • Foreign Policy
  • Foro Internacional
  • Frontiers in Ecology and the Environment
  • Hastings Center Report (The)
  • Hispamérica (College Park)
  • Hispania
  • Historia : Zeitschrift für alte Geschichte
  • Historical Reflections
  • Historical Studies in the Natural Sciences
  • Historical Studies in the Physical and Biological Sciences
  • Historical Studies in the Physical Sciences
  • History Workshop
  • History Workshop Journal
  • IMF Staff Papers
  • Improving College and University Teaching
  • Interfaces (Providence)
  • International Journal (Toronto)
  • International Journal of Politics
  • International Studies Review (Malden, Mass.)
  • INTI (Providence, R.I.)
  • JAC : a Journal of Composition Theory
  • Japanese Journal of Religious Studies
  • Journal of Adolescent & Adult Literacy
  • Journal of Advanced Composition
  • Journal of American Ethnic History
  • Journal of Anthropological Research
  • Journal of Applied Ecology (The)
  • Journal of Business (The) (Chicago, Ill.)
  • Journal of Business Ethics
  • Journal of Caribbean Literatures (The)
  • Journal of Consumer Research (The)
  • Journal of Crustacean Biology
  • Journal of Economic Issues
  • Journal of General Education (The) (University Park, Pa.)
  • Journal of Geology (The)
  • Journal of Hellenic Studies (The)
  • Journal of Human Resources (The)
  • Journal of Japanese Studies (The)
  • Journal of Law & Economics (The)
  • Journal of Library History (The) (1966)
  • Journal of Mammalogy
  • Journal of Policy Analysis and Management
  • Journal of Post Keynesian Economics
  • Journal of Reading
  • Journal of Social History
  • Journal of the Early Republic
  • Journal of the History of Biology
  • Journal of the History of Sexuality
  • Journal of the Royal Anthropological Institute (The)
  • Journal of the Royal Asiatic Society
  • Language in Society
  • Law & Society Review
  • Legacy (Amherst, Mass.)
  • Management Science
  • Material Culture
  • Mediterranean Studies (Kirksville, Mo.)
  • Meridians (Middletown, Conn.)
  • Midcontinent American Studies Journal
  • Middle East Journal (The)
  • Middle East Studies Association Bulletin
  • Mississippi Valley Historical Review (The)
  • Modern Philology
  • Monatshefte (Madison, Wis. : 1946)
  • Monist (The)
  • Montana : the Magazine of Western History
  • Music Analysis
  • Music & Letters
  • Musical Quarterly (The)
  • New German Critique
  • Nineteenth-Century Literature
  • North American Review (The)
  • North-American Review and Miscellaneous Journal (The)
  • Off Our Backs
  • Operations Research
  • Organization Science (Providence, R.I.)
  • Palaios
  • Paleobiology
  • Perspectives on Psychological Science
  • Perspectives on Sexual and Reproductive Health
  • Physiological Zoology
  • Pioneer America
  • Plant Cell (The)
  • Plant Physiology (Bethesda)
  • Proceedings of the Academy of Political Science in the City of New York
  • Proceedings of the Royal Society. A, Mathematical, physical, and engineering sciences
  • PS (Washington, D.C. : 1968)
  • Psychological Science
  • Psychological Science in the Public Interest
  • Public Administration Review
  • Public Health Reports (1896)
  • Public Health Reports (1974)
  • Public Opinion Quarterly
  • Publius
  • Quaker History
  • Quarterly Journal of Current Acquisitions
  • Radiation Research
  • Reference and User Services Quarterly
  • Religion & Literature
  • Religious Studies
  • Review of Economics and Statistics (The)
  • Review of English Studies (The)
  • Review of Metaphysics (The)
  • Review of Social Economy
  • Revista Canadiense de Estudios Hispánicos
  • Revista Hispánica Moderna
  • Revista Mexicana de Sociología
  • Revue d'Histoire LitteĢraire de la France
  • RQ
  • School Review
  • Science News (Washington)
  • Science News Letter
  • Scottish Historical Review
  • Seizième Siècle
  • SIAM Review
  • Slavonic Review (The)
  • Social and Economic Studies
  • Social Research
  • Social Science
  • Sociology of Religion
  • Soundings (Nashville, Tenn.)
  • State & Local Government Review
  • Studies in Philology
  • Studies in the Novel
  • Technology and Culture
  • TESOL Quarterly
  • Texas Studies in Literature and Language
  • Third World Quarterly
  • Transactions of the Charles S. Peirce Society
  • Urban Anthropology
  • Urban Anthropology and Studies of Cultural Systems and World Economic Development
  • Wilson Quarterly (The) (Washington)
  • World Policy Journal
  • World Today

[Updated 2/2/2015]