Skip to main content

Waidner-Spahr Library

Citing Sources: RefWorks

New RefWorks vs. Legacy RefWorks

RefWorks has released a new and improved interface. If you are new to RefWorks, we suggest that you use this new version from the outset. To set up an account, see the “New RefWorks” tab under “How do I start using RefWorks?” below. Those who use the legacy version of RefWorks may still continue to do so for now, but should make plans to transition soon. While we don’t yet have a date scheduled to retire the legacy version, that change will happen eventually. We will provide ample notice once a date is scheduled.

During the transition period you will see the options below when you export references from a library database into RefWorks. Choose Legacy RefWorks if you would like to continue working with your existing RefWorks account, or choose the new RefWorks icon to export references to your new RefWorks account. 

Which version of RefWorks would you like to export to?

 

 

 

If you want to migrate your references from your Legacy RefWorks account to your new account, please see the box below this one, "Migrating Existing References to the New RefWorks," for instructions. 

If you need assistance using the New RefWorks interface, check out this guide from the creators of RefWorks or ask the on-call librarian for help. Please note that the guide below includes instructions for both the new RefWorks and for Legacy RefWorks. Select the box that applies to the version of RefWorks that you are using.  

Migrating Existing References to the New RefWorks

If you would like to create a new RefWorks account and migrate your existing references to the new account at the same time, follow the instructions for Soft Migration from legacy to new RefWorks. Your existing RefWorks account will not be affected. 

Please note that it may take up to 24 hours for all of your references and folders to be imported into your new account. If your account is still missing folders or references after this time has passed, please contact us at library@dickinson.edu

If you already have both a Legacy RefWorks and a new RefWorks account, and would like to migrate your existing references to the new account, follow the instructions for Importing Your Legacy RefWorks Database when you already have a new RefWorks account. Your existing RefWorks account will not be affected.

Please note that it may take up to 24 hours for all of your references and folders to be imported into your new account. If your account is still missing folders or references after this time has passed, please contact us at library@dickinson.edu

Loading

Introduction to RefWorks

RefWorks Logo

What is RefWorks?

RefWorks is web-based bibliographic software that enables you to:

  • Organize your research
  • Add citations while you write your paper
  • Format a bibliography in a variety of citation styles
  • Import references from many data sources
  • Create bibliographies in different formats (Word, RTF, HTML, etc.)

As a web-based program, RefWorks does not require any software to download and update, and you can access your personal account from any computer connected to the internet.  You must be a member of the Dickinson College community to use RefWorks.

How do I start using RefWorks?

To begin using RefWorks, you must create an account through Dickinson College. Follow these instructions:

  1. Click on this link from any computer on the campus network.
  2. Click on "Create Account".
  3. Enter the appropriate information and click on "Create Account".

Your RefWorks account is now ready for use. To learn more about how to use the various features of RefWorks, see the sections below. 

To begin using RefWorks, you must create an account through Dickinson College. Follow these instructions:

  1. Click on this link from any computer on the campus network.
  2. Click on "Sign Up for a New Account".
  3. Enter the appropriate information and click on "Create Account".

The following short video describes how to access RefWorks and create a user account. You can also download a pdf with instructions for using RefWorks here.

Loading

Adding References and Formatting a Bibliography

Adding References

You can add references to your RefWorks database in several ways: you can add them by hand, you can import your existing database from another reference management tool like EndNote, or you can export them from a library database. The easiest method for adding individual references is to locate them in a library database like JumpStart, and then export them to RefWorks. 

The following video shows you how to export references from a database into RefWorks. Please note that different databases may provide different exporting options, so the method for exporting references may vary. For more information, please refer to the sidebar on "Getting Help With RefWorks."

Creating a Bibliography

After you are finished adding references, you may want to create a bibliography formatted in a particular style. To do that, select the references you wish to include, then click on Create bibliography (under the quotation mark icon at the top of the screen). If you don't see your preferred citation style on the dropdown list of output styles, you can search for it using the search box. 

After selecting a style, there is an option to copy the formatted citations to your clipboard, so you can paste it into your document. 

Please refer to the video below for a demonstration.

Adding References

You can add references to your RefWorks database in several ways: you can add them by hand, you can import your existing database from another reference management tool like EndNote, or you can export them from a library database. The easiest method for adding individual references is to locate them in a library database like JumpStart, and then export them to RefWorks. 

The following video shows you how to export references from a database into RefWorks. Please note that different databases may provide different exporting options, so the method for exporting references may vary. For more information, please refer to the sidebar on "Getting Help With RefWorks."

Creating a Bibliography

After you are finished adding references, you may want to create a bibliography formatted in a particular style. To do that, select the references you wish to include, then click on Create Bibliography. If you don't see your preferred citation style on the Output Style dropdown list, you will need to add it using the Manage Output Styles button. 

After selecting a style, you can select a file type for the completed bibliography. HTML will open the bibliography in a new browser window so that you can copy and paste it into your paper. There are also several options for downloading a Word document, RTF file, etc. 

Please refer to the video below for a demonstration.

Loading

Integration with Microsoft Word

You can use your RefWorks library to create in-text citations and format bibliographies while you are writing using a convenient plugin called RefWorks Citation Manager (the previous version of the plugin, Write-N-Cite, is available for users of Word 2011 or Word 2008 on Mac OS).  RefWorks Citation Manager is compatible with Microsoft Word 2016 for Windows and Mac OS, and works by installing a toolbar within Word that gives you easy access to your stored citations and formatting options. 

You can install RefWorks Citation Manager from within Word by navigating to the Insert tab and selecting Store, then searching for "RefWorks" in the Office Add-ins window. After you enable the plugin, you can find it in your My Add-ins menu on the Insert tab. The first time you use it, you will need to login using your RefWorks account user name and password. The below video demonstrates this procedure. 

If you are using an older version of Word on Mac OS, you can download Write-N-Cite by logging in to RefWorks and then clicking on the Tools menu, followed by Download & install under the Write-N-Cite section. 

After downloading Write-N-Cite, you will need to synchronize the plugin with your RefWorks library. You can do this by copying the code shown when you download Write-N-Cite and then pasting it into the login box of the plugin within Microsoft Word. 

For a demonstration of installing and using Write-N-Cite, please watch the following tutorial videos:

You can use your RefWorks library to create in-text citations and format bibliographies while you are writing using a convenient plugin called Write-N-Cite. Write-N-Cite is compatible with Microsoft Word for Windows and Mac OS, and works by installing a toolbar within Word that gives you easy access to your stored citations and formatting options. 

You can download Write-N-Cite by logging in to RefWorks and then clicking on the Tools menu, followed by the Write-N-Cite link. 

After downloading Write-N-Cite, you will need to synchronize the plugin with your RefWorks library. You can do this by copying the code shown when you download Write-N-Cite and then pasting it into the login box of the plugin within Microsoft Word. 

For a demonstration of installing and using Write-N-Cite, please watch the following tutorial videos:

Loading

Getting Help with RefWorks

RefWorks provides numerous online tutorials and help files. You may access these while logged in to RefWorks (look under the "Help" menu) or by clicking on a link below:

Comprehensive Guide to the new RefWorks - introduction to using RefWorks.

RefWorks Tutorials - video tutorials about using RefWorks, including using its advanced features.

RefWorks Support Center - searchable help files that can be used while you are working with RefWorks.

In addition, the Dickinson Library has compiled a list of Frequently Asked Questions

If you would like more information, you can make an appointment with a librarian who will show you how to use RefWorks. Email library@dickinson.edu to set up an appointment.

RefWorks provides numerous online tutorials and help files. You may access these while logged in to RefWorks (look under the "Help" menu) or by clicking on a link below:

Quick Start Guide - the basics of how to use RefWorks.

RefWorks Tutorials - links to additional video tutorials about using RefWorks, including using its advanced features.

Help File - a detailed online guide that can be used while you are working with RefWorks.

In addition, the Dickinson Library has compiled a list of Frequently Asked Questions

If you would like more information, you can make an appointment with a librarian who will show you how to use RefWorks. Email library@dickinson.edu to set up an appointment.

Loading

Ask a Librarian

Librarians: library@dickinson.edu
Liaison Librarians by Department

Circulation desk: 717-245-1397