Neuroscience: Databases

If you are looking for a specific article and you know the journal that it was published in, you can determine whether Dickinson subscribes to this journal by checking the Journals & Newspapers List. If you are not looking for a specific article, you can search for articles in the databases that we subscribe to. Click here to view our tutorial on choosing a database.

Depending on your topic, you may want to search through databases containing content on Biology, Psychology, Chemistry, or Medicine.

Here are a couple of databases that you might find useful:

A comprehensive electronic index to international psychology literature in journals, books, and book chapters, dissertations, and conference proceedings.

There are many different ways to limit your search in this database. Some of the most interesting options include:

• Population Group: where you can limit your study to human, animal, male, female, inpatient or outpatient

• Methodology: where you can limit by what type of study was conducted

• Classification Codes: some codes that might be useful are:
  • 2500 Physiological Psychology & Neuroscience
    • 2510 Genetics
    • 2520 Neuropsychology & Neurology
    • 2530 Electrophysiology
    • 2540 Physiological Processes
    • 2560 Psychophysiology
    • 2580 Psychopharmacology
    • 2520 Neuropsychology & Neurology
  • 3297 Neurological Disorders & Brain Damage
  • 2225 Neuropsychological Assessment

• Thesaurus: this is a separate tab where you can search for a term to see how it corresponds with the official vocabulary used to index articles in this databases. You can click on any of the terms to see any narrower terms or related terms, and you can add any useful ones to your search.

PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, includes over 15 million citations for biomedical articles back to the 1950's. These citations are from MEDLINE and additional life science journals.

As this database stores so many citations, often it is useful to search using MESH (Medical Subject Headings) headings. If you use the pull down menu, MESH is one of the search options. Once you have entered a term, you can see what version of that term is used as the official indexing term, and you can limit your search by subheadings which can be extremely useful.

MESH does use the term "Neurosciences" but it also uses the following more specific terms:

• Neuroanatomy

• Neurobiology

• Neurochemistry

• Neuroendocrinology

• Neuropharmacology

• Neurophysiology