History: English History

Access national and regional English newspapers, as well as newspapers from Scotland, Ireland and Wales, especially those that helped lead political or social movements such as Reform, Chartism and Home Rule. Penny papers aimed at the working and clerical classes have also been included. These newspapers are cross-searchable with other collections via Gale Primary Sources. Coverage: 1800-1900, contains primary sources. Full text.

Access primary sources related to the social and political climate in Great Britain during the Industrial Revolution. Documents range from government reports, to periodicals, autobiographies, pamphlets, and letters. This collection covers topics such as labor history, religious movements, political reforms, and education. It is part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO). Coverage: 1790-1914, contains primary sources. Full text.

Access primary sources related to arts and popular culture in the Victorian era. Documents range from playbills, scripts to operas and complete scores to archival documents, such as personal letters, annotated programs, meeting minutes, and financial records. This collection is part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO). Coverage: 1733-1968, contains primary sources. Full text.

Access Winston S. Churchill's original documents, ranging from personal correspondence to his official exchanges with kings, presidents, politicians, and military leaders. Coverage: 1874-1965, contains primary sources. Full text.

Access the weekly Listener magazine established by the BBC for reproducing radio - and later, television - programmes in print. It is our only record and means of accessing the content of many early broadcasts. This magazine also discussed major literary works, musical programmes, and regularly reviewed new books. It is cross-searchable with other collections via Gale Primary Sources. Coverage: 1929-1991. Full text.

Access historical issues of the oldest daily newspaper in continuous publication, providing in-depth, objective coverage of world events. This archive supports research across multiple disciplines and areas of interest: in business, humanities, political science, philosophy and numerous other subjects with coverage of all major international historical events. It is cross-searchable with other collections via Gale Primary Sources. Coverage: 1785-2019, contains primary sources. Full text.