Waidner-Spahr Library

Reviews: Book, Film, and Theatre: Home - Book Reviews

Books Reviews

A book review is a critical evaluation of a book, usually published in periodicals such as journals and newspapers. A book review relects the reviewer's opinion or recommendation about the work. Scholarly reviews may be based on the book's organization; the author's writing style; possible market appeal; and cultural, political, or literary significance. Book reviews appear in respected journals such Publishers Weekly, Kirkus Reviews, Library Journal, Choice, and the New York Review of Books, and Booklist.

Book Review Journals and Periodicals

The following periodicals deal exclusively with books and book reviews.


Print or Microfilm (found on the lower level of the library):

Choice - Issues published from 1985 to 2007.

New York Review of Books - Issues published from 1963 to present.

Times Literary Supplement - Issues from 1969-2001, 6 months ago to present.


Electronic:

Booklist

Choice Reviews Online - Contains reviews of books and electronic products related to higher education.

Kirkus Reviews

New York Times Book Review

Publishers Weekly

Times Literary Supplement - The publication's homepage. An online database of one of the world's great literary journals, a journal which scrutinized, dissected, applauded, and occasionally disparaged, the work of the twentieth century's leading writers and thinkers.

Books Review Indexes

An index is a specialized database that organizes information about the locations of articles in journals/magazines, reports and newspapers; and book chapters, papers in conference proceedings, and book reviews.

  • Indexes provide the complete bibliographic citation of an article, including the title of the article, author, name of the journal, volume number, the pages of the journal in which the article can be found, and a short summary, or abstract, of the article.
  • Some indexes are in book form, and some are electronic databases. Some eletronic databases do NOT provide the complete text of articles.

 

Electronic Resources:

The best way to start searching for a review of a book is to type the title of the work as a keyword, and add "review" to the search as another keyword. Searching this way is likely to exclude works that are not critical reviews of the book.

Tell Us What You Think!