Introduction
The following lists are not comprehensive. The items listed on this page are representative of some of the most frequently used research materials on this topic. To find more material, consult the catalog or contact your librarian for assistance.
Library Catalog
Enter your search:
Primary Resources
Native American Periodicals and Newspapers, 1828-1982 by Call Number: REF E77 .D36 1984ISBN: 0313237735Publication Date: 1984-07-06- American Indian and Alaska Native Newspapers and Periodicals, 1826-1924 byCall Number: REF PN4883 .L57 1984ISBN: 0313234256Publication Date: 1984-01-01
Databases
- MLA International Bibliography (Modern Language Association) with Full Text This link opens in a new windowSearch for scholarly, international journals, books, and more, covering language, literature, composition, folklore, and film. Coverage: late 19th century to present. Some full text.
- Essay and General Literature Index This link opens in a new windowSearch chapters and essays contained in books of collected works, focusing on humanities and social sciences, including works published in the United States, Great Britain and Canada. This index covers archaeology, folklore, architecture, history, art, linguistics, literature, music, classical studies, poetry, drama, political science, economics, religion women's studies, and film. Coverage: 1985 to present. Citations only.
- Humanities Source This link opens in a new windowAccess journals, books and other published sources from around the world in all aspects of the humanities, including archaeology, area studies, art, classical studies, dance, film, gender studies, history, journalism, linguistics, literature, music, performing arts, philosophy, and religion. For citation searching: click "Cited References" at the top of the search screen. Coverage: late 1800s to present. Some full text.
- Humanities and Social Sciences Retrospective This link opens in a new windowSearch for articles from English-language periodicals on subjects including anthropology, archaeology, art, classical studies, criminal justice, environmental studies, ethics, gender studies, international relations, law, literature, music, performing arts, philosophy, political science, psychiatry, psychology, religion and sociology. Use the library's "Get It!" button to obtain materials with no direct full text link. Coverage: 1907-1984. Citations only.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowExplore historical and recent journals, books and images in the arts, humanities, and social sciences, with some natural science coverage. Coverage: varies - historical up to 1-5 years from current date, contains primary sources. Full text.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowAccess newspapers from around the world, plus a wealth of legal, business, medical, and reference information. This collection includes news; cases; statutes & legislation; law reviews & journals; administrative codes & regulations; company and financial data (SEC Filings, company profiles, etc.); and government, legal, and business directories. Coverage: varies but mostly mid-19th century to current, contains primary sources. Mostly full text.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowAccess scholarly journals and ebooks in both the humanities and social sciences. Most journals covered are up to date. Ebooks include titles in Global Cultural Studies, Poetry, Fiction & Creative Non-Fiction. Coverage: historical and current. Full text.
- Readers' Guide Full Text This link opens in a new windowSearch for articles in the popular press (magazines, news magazines, general interest periodicals), on topics including art, business, computers, dance, drama, education, entertainment, fashion, film & television, food, health & medicine, history, literature, news & current events, photography, popular & classical music, politics, popular culture, religion, science, sports & fitness, transportation, and travel. Coverage: 1890-1982. Some full text.
- WorldCat (FirstSearch) This link opens in a new windowSearch for books and other materials in libraries worldwide. This tool is useful for discovering books that our library does not own that you can borrow via interlibrary loan (EZ-Borrow or ILLiad). Coverage: before 1000 BC to the present. Citations only, except for links to freely available e-books, government documents, and web sites.
See also Open WorldCat and Dickinson on Worldcat for alternative search box options.
Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
- Dictionary of Native American Mythology byCall Number: REF E98 .R3 G46 1992ISBN: 0874366216Publication Date: 1992-06-30
Dictionaries and encyclopedias are helpful in finding basic information about your topic area. They may also serve as sources of inspiration to you as you search for new topics to research. The following list is not comprehensive. Search the library catalog for more encyclopedias and dictionaries.
Dictionary of Native American Literature by Call Number: PM155 .D53 1994ISBN: 0815315600Publication Date: 1994-10-01
Native American Literatures by Call Number: REF PS153 .I52 W47 1999ISBN: 0874369320Publication Date: 1999-03-24
Biographies
- A Biobibliography of Native American Writers, 1772-1924 byCall Number: E77 .L57 1981ISBN: 0810814633Publication Date: 1981-09-01
- The Encyclopedia of Native American Biography byCall Number: REF E89 .J69 1997ISBN: 0805032703Publication Date: 1997-01-01
Who Was Who in Native American History by Call Number: REF E89 .W35 1990ISBN: 0816017972Publication Date: 1990-01-01- Native American Women byCall Number: ref E98 .W8 B38 1993ISBN: 0824052676Publication Date: 1993-02-01
A to Z of Native American Women by Call Number: REF E98 .W8 S65 1998ISBN: 0816035806Publication Date: 1998-05-01
Criticism
- Literary Index (Gale Literary Sets) This link opens in a new windowSearch a master index to the major literature books published by Gale, including Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism, and Poetry Criticism. Coverage: historical to present. Citations only.
- Gale Literary Criticism This link opens in a new windowExplore an authoritative source of literary criticism, summarizing authors' lives and works and including excerpts from scholarly articles. IMPORTANT NOTE: Because this source is an encyclopedic work, it should NEVER be directly cited. Always look up the original source of the excerpted and reprinted articles. Coverage: varies. Mostly full text.
Biographies
- Dictionary of Literary Biography (Gale Literature) This link opens in a new windowExplore career biographies and criticism of writers from all eras and all genres of literature. Photographs of many authors are included. Coverage: all eras of literary history. Full text.
Websites
- Literary Resources on the NetA "meta" site maintained by Rutgers University — Newark.
Bibliographies
- Native American Periodicals and Newspapers, 1828-1982 by Call Number: REF E77 .D36 1984ISBN: 0313237735Publication Date: 1984-07-06
- A Biobibliography of Native American Writers, 1772-1924 byCall Number: E77 .L57 1981ISBN: 0810814633Publication Date: 1981-09-01
- Native American Folklore, 1879-1979 byCall Number: E98 .F6 C57 1984ISBN: 0804008310Publication Date: 1984-05-01
- Contemporary Native American Literature byCall Number: REF PS153.I52 J32 1977ISBN: 081081031XPublication Date: 1977-02-01
The Native American in American Literature by Call Number: REF PS173 .I6ISBN: 0313245509Publication Date: 1985-05-22
The Native American in Long Fiction by Call Number: REF PS374.I49 B42 1995ISBN: 0810830167Publication Date: 1996-04-02
