Library Catalog
Enter your search:
Introduction
The following provides a list of resources to assist you with research for POSC290 International Terrorism and other projects relating to terrorism.
Some resources are restricted to people currently affiliated with Dickinson. Because research on terrorism can cross over many academic disciplines (such as Political Science, History, Sociology, Psychology, etc.) students are strongly encouraged to consult with a librarian for help with specific topics.
You may also find the US Army War College Library, which is open to Dicksinson students, helpful for particular topics.
Please consult your liaison librarian or a librarian at the War College for assistance.
Liaison Librarian: Anna Kozlowska, 717-245-1849
General Collection
Full length books on subjects relating to terrorism may be found in the Waidner-Spahr Library Catalog. However, because Security Studies can encompass such a wide range of topics, try combining specific terms related to your topic rather than just searching for Security Studies.
Example: terrorism and Gaza.
Journals
Databases
This list of databases offers the best places to get started in a few general areas but there are many more available at the Waidner-Spahr Library. Consult a librarian to choose the best database to look for information about your specific topic.
- CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online) This link opens in a new windowAccess research, analysis, and scholarship on international politics and related fields, including security studies, global finance, diplomatic practice, humanitarian law, global governance, development studies, and environmental studies. This collection includes working papers, policy briefs, scholarly journal articles, ebooks, and videos. The Economist Intelligence Unit supplies comprehensive country surveys, including in-depth political and economic data and detailed maps. Coverage: 1996 to present. Full text.
- CQ Press Electronic Library This link opens in a new windowBrowse CQ Press electronic resources, including CQ Researcher and the CQ Press electronic editions of reference books. Reference books include Congress A to Z, Elections A to Z, Supreme Court A to Z, U.S. Constitution A to Z, Encyclopedia of Religion in America, Encyclopedia of Political Science, Guide to Interest Groups & Lobbying, Voter Turnout in the United States, Vital Statistics on American Politics, The Contemporary Middle East, and more. Some full text. This purchase was funded in part by the Mary Moser Memorial Library Fund.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowAccess newspapers from around the world, plus a wealth of legal, business, medical, and reference information. This collection includes news; cases; statutes & legislation; law reviews & journals; administrative codes & regulations; company and financial data (SEC Filings, company profiles, etc.); and government, legal, and business directories. Coverage: varies but mostly mid-19th century to current, contains primary sources. Mostly full text.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowExplore historical and recent journals, books and images in the arts, humanities, and social sciences, with some natural science coverage. Coverage: varies - historical up to 1-5 years from current date, contains primary sources. Full text.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowAccess scholarly journals and ebooks in both the humanities and social sciences. Most journals covered are up to date. Ebooks include titles in Global Cultural Studies, Poetry, Fiction & Creative Non-Fiction. Coverage: historical and current. Full text.
- ProQuestCovers all disciplines including social science, humanities, arts, literature and so on. Entries contain value-added content from a wide range of sources including newspapers, periodicals and books.
- Social Science Citation IndexA multidisciplinary index to the journal literature and conference proceedings of the social sciences. Also has the capacity to conduct a cited reference search and create a citations map. Covers publications 1965 to present . Gives access to citations only, not full text.
- Social Sciences Full TextCovers English-language periodicals, published in the Unites States or internationally, in sociology, anthropology, psychology, geography, economics, political science, and law. Indexes material from 1983-present, includes abstracts for material 1984-present and contains some full-text for 1994 to present.
- THOMASA website provided by the Library of Congress that provides detailed legislative information. It offers bill tracking by number as well as sponsor. Also searches cabinet nominations, appropriations bills, public laws, the congressional record, presidential nominations, treaties and roll-call votes
- GPO (Government Printing Office) Government DocumentsCovers all types of U.S. government documents published since 1976. Includes citations with some links to full text. Print documents are available in our library, the State Library in Harrisburg, and via interlibrary loan (ILLiad).
- Access to Archival Databases This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Explore selected full-text records from the National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) of the Federal government of the United States. Topics addressed include: politics, diplomacy, economics, labor, genealogy, social issues, and the military. These records date from 1800 to the present. Feel free to seek a librarian's assistance for advanced searches. Coverage: varies, contains primary sources. Full text. - Congressional Universe This link opens in a new windowExplore Congressional publications, committee prints, Congressional hearings, House and Senate documents and reports, legislative histories, bill tracking, and public law. This collection includes high resolution Serial Set maps from 1789 to 1969. Coverage: 1776 to present, contains primary sources. Full text.
- ODS: Official Documents System of the United NationsThe official place to look for United Nations documents, it covers documents published by the United Nations from 1992 onwards, as well as the full-text of UN Resolutions.
- UNBISNETIndex of United Nations documentation, publications, books, journals and a catalogue of the collections of the Dag Hammarskjold Library. Separate searches for voting records of the General Assembly, and Security Council and for speeches made in major UN organs available. Also provides instant access to a growing number of full text resources in the six official languages of the UN. Items not available in full-text may be requested through ILLiad.
- United Nations Treaty CollectionProvides access to multilateral treaties deposited with the United Nations, as well as bilateral and multilateral treaties registered with the United Nations.
- Europa: Official website of the EUProvides a plethora of information on the European Union, as well as links to its governing bodies. To search for documents, go to Documentation Centre, then official documents.
