Library Catalog
Enter your search:
Introduction
The following provides a list of resources to assist with research for POSC 390 Comparative Political Corruption.
Some resources are restricted to people currently affiliated with Dickinson.
Because your research may cross over many academic disciplines (such as Political Science, History, or Economics) students are strongly encouraged to consult with a librarian for help with specific topics.
Liaison Librarian: Anna Kozlowska, 717-245-1849
General Collection
Full length books on subjects relating to political corruption may be found in the Waidner-Spahr Library Catalog. However, because this can encompass such a wide range of topics, try combining specific terms related to your topic and rather than just searching for political corruption.
Example: Argentina AND politics
Reference Sources
- Political Handbook of the World This link opens in a new windowExplore information about countries and territories throughout the world including each country's governmental and political makeup. This handbook offers extensive coverage of major, minor, and anti-systemic political parties in each political system around the world. It also provides names of key ambassadors and international memberships of each country, and profiles a number of intergovernmental organizations. Coverage: 2018 to present. Full text.
Databases
Depending on the countries you select, you should consider the region specific databases.
These include Middle East Studies, Asian Studies, Latin American Studies, and Africana Studies.
- Worldwide Political Science AbstractsCSA Worldwide Political Science Abstracts provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration / policy.
- CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online) This link opens in a new windowAccess research, analysis, and scholarship on international politics and related fields, including security studies, global finance, diplomatic practice, humanitarian law, global governance, development studies, and environmental studies. This collection includes working papers, policy briefs, scholarly journal articles, ebooks, and videos. The Economist Intelligence Unit supplies comprehensive country surveys, including in-depth political and economic data and detailed maps. Coverage: 1996 to present. Full text.
- CQ Press Electronic LibrarySearches across all of the CQ Press electronic resources, including CQ Research, CQ Weekly, and the CQ Press electronic editions of reference books.
- Social Science Citation Index ExpandedA multidisciplinary index to the journal literature and conference proceedings of the social sciences. Also has the capacity to conduct a cited reference search and create a citations map. Covers publications 1965 to present . Gives access to citations only, not full text.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowExplore historical and recent journals, books and images in the arts, humanities, and social sciences, with some natural science coverage. Coverage: varies - historical up to 1-5 years from current date, contains primary sources. Full text.
- Project MuseA multi-disciplinary database of full text articles from scholarly journals in both humanities and social sciences. Most journals covered are up to date. Can be used as complementary to JStor as the latter covers mostly archival issues.
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowExplore the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from the 15th century to the present, including military history, women's history, history of education, history of science, and more. This collection includes secondary source articles from journals, as well as books and book reviews. Note: for United States history, use America: History and Life; for medieval history, use Iter. Coverage: varies. Full text.
- America: History & Life This link opens in a new windowExplore the history and culture of North America including the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. This collection includes secondary source articles, as well as books and book reviews. Note: for world history, use Historical Abstracts. Coverage: 1935 to present. Full text.
News Sources
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowAccess newspapers from around the world, plus a wealth of legal, business, medical, and reference information. This collection includes news; cases; statutes & legislation; law reviews & journals; administrative codes & regulations; company and financial data (SEC Filings, company profiles, etc.); and government, legal, and business directories. Coverage: varies but mostly mid-19th century to current, contains primary sources. Mostly full text.
- ProQuestCovers all disciplines including social science, humanities, arts, literature and so on. Entries contain value-added content from a wide range of sources including newspapers, periodicals and books.
- CQ Global ResearcherDelivers in-depth coverage of newsworthy global affairs from a multitude of international viewpoints.
Public Opinion
- Polling the NationsProvides access to over 14,000 surveys conducted in the United States, as well as countries around the world. It includes surveys from a variety of pollsters and detailed information on the questions. The surveys are from 1986 to present, and are available in full-text.
