Library Catalog
Enter your search:
Citing Sources
You are required to format your citations for this course according to the Chicago Manual of Style. The Chicago Manual of Style Online offers many resources, including the very helpful Chicago-Style Citation Quick Guide.
Refworks
Another tool which you may find useful to help keep track of and format your citations is RefWorks. To use this resource, simply create an account to import citations, keep track of them, and format bibliographies. Please consult your liaison librarian for assistance.
Diigo
Diigo is a web-based book marking tool. Please visit the course diigo group.
Introduction
The following provides a list of resources to assist with research for POSC 277 International Politics of the Middle East, or for political research pertaining to the Middle East generally.
Some resources are restricted to people currently affiliated with Dickinson.
Because your research may cross over many academic disciplines (such as Political Science, History, or Economics) students are strongly encouraged to consult with a librarian for help with specific topics.
Liaison Librarian: Anna Kozlowska, 717-245-1849
General Collection
Full length books on subjects relating to Political Science may be found in the Waidner-Spahr Library Catalog. However, because Political Science can encompass such a wide range of topics, try combining specific terms related to your topic rather than just searching for Political Science.
Examples: Middle East Peace Process / Proliferation AND Iran
Reference Sources
- Encyclopaedia Judaica This link opens in a new windowExplore Jewish life, culture, history, and religion, written by Israeli, American, and European subject specialists. Coverage: antiquity to the early 21st century. Full text.
- Encyclopaedia of the Qur'an This link opens in a new windowExplore Qur'anic terms, concepts, personalities, place names, cultural history and exegesis extended with essays on the most important themes and subjects within Islam and Qur'anic studies. Full text.
Databases
- Worldwide Political Science AbstractsCSA Worldwide Political Science Abstracts provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration / policy.
- CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online) This link opens in a new windowAccess research, analysis, and scholarship on international politics and related fields, including security studies, global finance, diplomatic practice, humanitarian law, global governance, development studies, and environmental studies. This collection includes working papers, policy briefs, scholarly journal articles, ebooks, and videos. The Economist Intelligence Unit supplies comprehensive country surveys, including in-depth political and economic data and detailed maps. Coverage: 1996 to present. Full text.
- CQ Press Electronic LibrarySearches across all of the CQ Press electronic resources, including CQ Research, CQ Weekly, and the CQ Press electronic editions of reference books.
- Index IslamicusIndexes literature on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world, including Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, plus Muslim minorities elsewhere. Coverage Range: 1906 to present
- RAMBI: Index of Articles on Jewish Studies This link opens in a new windowSearch for articles in the various fields of Jewish studies and in the study of Eretz Israel and the State of Israel. Material is compiled from periodicals and collections of articles - in Hebrew, Yiddish, and European languages - mainly from the National Library of Israel. Coverage: 1966 to present. Citations only.
- ATLA Religion (American Theological Library Association) This link opens in a new windowSearch articles, essays in books, and book reviews in the field of religion, covering all religious traditions, with the strongest coverage in the Judeo-Christian tradition. Coverage: 1818 to present. Citations only.
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowExplore the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from the 15th century to the present, including military history, women's history, history of education, history of science, and more. This collection includes secondary source articles from journals, as well as books and book reviews. Note: for United States history, use America: History and Life; for medieval history, use Iter. Coverage: varies. Full text.
- America: History & Life This link opens in a new windowExplore the history and culture of North America including the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. This collection includes secondary source articles, as well as books and book reviews. Note: for world history, use Historical Abstracts. Coverage: 1935 to present. Full text.
- Social Science Citation Index ExpandedA multidisciplinary index to the journal literature and conference proceedings of the social sciences. Also has the capacity to conduct a cited reference search and create a citations map. Covers publications 1965 to present . Gives access to citations only, not full text.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowExplore historical and recent journals, books and images in the arts, humanities, and social sciences, with some natural science coverage. Coverage: varies - historical up to 1-5 years from current date, contains primary sources. Full text.
- Project MuseA multi-disciplinary database of full text articles from scholarly journals in both humanities and social sciences. Most journals covered are up to date. Can be used as complementary to JStor as the latter covers mostly archival issues.
Public Opinion
- Polling the NationsProvides access to over 14,000 surveys conducted in the United States, as well as countries around the world. It includes surveys from a variety of pollsters and detailed information on the questions. The surveys are from 1986 to present, and are available in full-text.
