General Collection
Full length books on subjects relating to International Studies may be found in the Waidner-Spahr Library Catalog. However, because International Studies can encompass such a wide range of topics, try combining specific terms related to your topic.
Examples: American Colonialism / Colonialism AND England
Diigo
Diigo is a web-based book marking tool. Please visit the course diigo group.
Cite Your Sources
You are required to format your citations for this course according to the Chicago Manual of Style. The Chicago Manual of Style Online offers many resources, including the very helpful Chicago-Style Citation Quick Guide.
Another tool which you may find useful to help keep track of and format your citations is Refworks. To use this resource, simply create an account to import citations, keep track of them, and format bibliographies. Please consult your liaison librarian for assistance.
Empire Research
The following provides a list of resources to assist with research for IS 401-01 Empire.
Some resources are restricted to people currently affiliated with Dickinson.
Because your research may cross over many academic disciplines (such as Political Science, History, or Economics) students are strongly encouraged to consult with a librarian for help with specific topics.
Liaison Librarian: Ian Boucher
History Databases
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowExplore the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from the 15th century to the present, including military history, women's history, history of education, history of science, and more. This collection includes secondary source articles from journals, as well as books and book reviews. Note: for United States history, use America: History and Life; for medieval history, use Iter. Coverage: varies. Full text.
- America: History & Life This link opens in a new windowExplore the history and culture of North America including the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. This collection includes secondary source articles, as well as books and book reviews. Note: for world history, use Historical Abstracts. Coverage: 1935 to present. Full text.
Political Science and IR Databases
- Political Science Complete This link opens in a new windowAccess research covering comparative politics, humanitarian issues, international relations, law and legislation, and political theory. Coverage: 1960s to present. Full text.
- CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online) This link opens in a new windowAccess research, analysis, and scholarship on international politics and related fields, including security studies, global finance, diplomatic practice, humanitarian law, global governance, development studies, and environmental studies. This collection includes working papers, policy briefs, scholarly journal articles, ebooks, and videos. The Economist Intelligence Unit supplies comprehensive country surveys, including in-depth political and economic data and detailed maps. Coverage: 1996 to present. Full text.
- CQ Press Electronic Library This link opens in a new windowBrowse CQ Press electronic resources, including CQ Researcher and the CQ Press electronic editions of reference books. Reference books include Congress A to Z, Elections A to Z, Supreme Court A to Z, U.S. Constitution A to Z, Encyclopedia of Religion in America, Encyclopedia of Political Science, Guide to Interest Groups & Lobbying, Voter Turnout in the United States, Vital Statistics on American Politics, The Contemporary Middle East, and more. Some full text. This purchase was funded in part by the Mary Moser Memorial Library Fund.
- Political Handbook of the World This link opens in a new windowExplore information about countries and territories throughout the world including each country's governmental and political makeup. This handbook offers extensive coverage of major, minor, and anti-systemic political parties in each political system around the world. It also provides names of key ambassadors and international memberships of each country, and profiles a number of intergovernmental organizations. Coverage: 2018 to present. Full text.
General Databases
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowExplore historical and recent journals, books and images in the arts, humanities, and social sciences, with some natural science coverage. Coverage: varies - historical up to 1-5 years from current date, contains primary sources. Full text.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowAccess scholarly journals and ebooks in both the humanities and social sciences. Most journals covered are up to date. Ebooks include titles in Global Cultural Studies, Poetry, Fiction & Creative Non-Fiction. Coverage: historical and current. Full text.
News Sources
- New York Times -- Current Online Access This link opens in a new windowRegister for a Group Pass to access current issues of New York Times online. See https://libguides.dickinson.edu/specialaccess/nytimes for instructions. Coverage: 1996-present, some historical content. Full text.
- Financial Times Online This link opens in a new windowRegister with FT.com to access current issues of Financial Times, including the UK, European, USA, Asian, and Middle East editions. See https://libguides.dickinson.edu/specialaccess/financialtimes for instructions.
Coverage: 2005 to present. Full text. - Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowAccess newspapers from around the world, plus a wealth of legal, business, medical, and reference information. This collection includes news; cases; statutes & legislation; law reviews & journals; administrative codes & regulations; company and financial data (SEC Filings, company profiles, etc.); and government, legal, and business directories. Coverage: varies but mostly mid-19th century to current, contains primary sources. Mostly full text.
- Foreign Policy WebsiteProvides articles, blogs, etc. that often address the issues that you will be discussing in the course. To access the full-text of the Foreign Policy publication, go through the library's journal locator.
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowAccess a weekly analysis on one of many broad-ranging topics from the news. Each report focuses on a single issue and is written by a seasoned journalist. Coverage: 1991 to present. Full text.
- Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new windowAccess national and international newspapers, plus television and radio news transcripts, including: ABC News (American Broadcasting Company), ABC (Australian Broadcasting Corporation), CBC (Canadian Broadcasting Corporation), CBS News, CNBC, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, MSNBC, National Public Radio, and PBS. Coverage: late 20th century to present. Full text.
- World News Connection Archive This link opens in a new windowAccess foreign language news articles translated into English. Search full text, limit results or browse by region, country and date. Coverage: varies by title - historical to 2013, contains primary sources. Full text.
Visual Resources
- ARTstor This link opens in a new windowArtstor website retires as a separate website on Aug. 1, 2024; Get started with Artstor on JSTOR
Explore quality images covering the visual arts, architecture, archaeology, fashion, geography, the performing arts, science, and technology. Collections feature visual media from leading museums, photo archives, scholars, and artists, which have been rights-cleared for educational use. ***It is necessary to turn off your browser's pop-up blocker for ARTstor to work properly.*** Recommended instructions for using ARTstor are available on Youtube and the ARTstor website. Coverage: all eras, contains primary sources. Full text.
Public Opinion
- Pew Global Attitude ProjectFrom the Pew Research Center, offers public opinion surveys around the world on a broad array of subjects ranging from people’s assessments of their own lives to their views about the current state of the world and important issues of the day. More than 240,000 interviews in 57 countries have been conducted as part of the project’s work.
- Polling the Nations This link opens in a new windowAccess poll questions and results conducted in the United States, as well as countries around the world. It includes surveys from a variety of pollsters (e.g. Quinnipiac University, Pew Research Center) and detailed information on the poll questions. Coverage: 1986 to present. Full text.
