Skip to main content

Waidner-Spahr Library

Music: Web sites

Guide to library materials for music research

Selected Web Sites for Music Reseach

British Library Sounds: World and Traditional Music

British Library Sounds presents 50,000 recordings and their associated documentation from the Library’s extensive collections of unique sound recordings which come from all over the world and cover the entire range of recorded sound: music, drama and literature, oral history, wildlife and environmental sounds.

Folkstreams: A National Preserve of Documentary Films about American Roots Cultures 

Folkstreams' mission is to find, preserve, contextualize, and stream documentary films on American folklife.These documentaries focus on the culture, struggles, and arts of unnoticed Americans from many different kinds of communities. 

Grinnell College Music Instrument Collection

Explore the world of acoustic musical instruments. The collection includes: the standard Western instruments used in music making today throughout the cosmopolitan world; earlier historic forms of many of these same instruments; and a generous sampling of instruments used in musical traditions around the non-Western world.

Hathi Trust

HathiTrust contains books, scores, and other digitized print materials from across the disciplines and in diverse languages, with most content dating from the late 18th to the early 20th Centuries. Dickinson’s HathiTrust membership provides full-text access (with downloading) to more than 5.6 million HathiTrust volumes, including more than 50,000 scores, and bibliographic information on millions more.

Library of Congress Recorded Sound Research Center Online Collections

The Library provides access to a portion of its audio collections through the Recorded Sound Research Center's web page, the American Memory site, The Performing Arts Encyclopedia and the American Folklife Center pages.

Music Library Scores and Books Collection

Titles from the University of Michigan Music Library.

National Jukebox

The Library of Congress presents the National Jukebox, which makes historical sound recordings available to the public free of charge. The Jukebox includes recordings from the extraordinary collections of the Library of Congress Packard Campus for Audio Visual Conservation and other contributing libraries and archives. Recordings in the Jukebox were issued on record labels now owned by Sony Music Entertainment, which has granted the Library of Congress a gratis license to stream acoustical recordings.

At launch, the Jukebox includes more than 10,000 recordings made by the Victor Talking Machine Company between 1901 and 1925. Jukebox content will be increased regularly, with additional Victor recordings and acoustically recorded titles made by other Sony-owned U.S. labels, including Columbia, OKeh, and others.

Open Music Library

The Open Music Library is an initiative from Alexander Street to build the world’s largest free index of digital resources for the study of music. Curated by a community of music scholars, students, teachers and librarians, the Open Music Library brings together peer-reviewed journal articles, books and music scores from the world’s digital collections.

Women Composers Collection

A collection of mostly 19th- and early 20th-century musical scores by women composers held at the University of Michigan Music Library.