Core Databases
If you are looking for a specific article and you know the journal that it was published in, you can determine whether Dickinson subscribes to this journal by checking the Journal Locator. If you are not looking for a specific article, you can search for articles in the databases that we subscribe to. Click here to access our tutorial on how to choose a database.
Depending on your topic, you may want to search through databases containing content on Biology, Chemistry, or Medicine. This page contains recommended databases for these topics.
- ACS Publications (American Chemical Society) This link opens in a new windowAccess journals published by the American Chemical Society (ACS). Coverage: 1896 to present, but varies by journal. Full text.
- CAS SciFinder-n This link opens in a new windowFirst time users must register to search SciFinder, which is available to current Dickinson affiliates only. Contact the Chemistry Liaison Librarian for registration information.
Search for important scientific discoveries as well as organic and inorganic substance information with references from journals and patents. This resource also provides step-by-step procedures and protocols, citation mapping, biosequence searching, retrosynthetic analysis, patent landscape mapping, and touch-screen enabled structure drawing. Citations only. - Scopus This link opens in a new windowSearch for abstracts of scholarly literature across a wide variety of disciplines. This tool also enables researchers to discover and analyze the connections between research, locating documents by shared references, authors, and keywords; identifying subject experts; tracking citations over time for a set of authors or documents; and assessing trends in search results. Coverage: 1788 to present. Citations only.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowAccess articles in journals published by Elsevier focusing on science, technology and medicine. Coverage: varies - some 1850 to present. Some full text.
PubMed
As this database stores so many citations, often it is useful to search using MESH (Medical Subject Headings) headings. If you use the pull down menu, MESH is one of the search options. Once you have entered a term, you can see what version of that term is used as the official indexing term, and you can limit your search by subheadings which can be extremely useful.
MESH does use the term "Biochemistry" but it also uses the following more specific terms:
- Carbohydrate Biochemistry
- Histocytochemistry
- Immunochemistry
- Metabolomics
- Molecular Biology
- Neurochemistry
- Proteomics
- PubMed (with Dickinson links) This link opens in a new windowSearch for biomedical articles from several National Library of Medicine resources, including MEDLINE, life science journals and ebooks. This special version of PubMed includes Dickinson library's "Get It" links to additional full text. Coverage: late 1700s to present. Some full text.
Supplementary Databases
- Springer Nature ExperimentsFind, evaluate and implement experiments across the life sciences with the new research solution for protocols and methods from Springer Nature. Searches over 50,000 published protocols and methods.
