Skip to main content

Waidner-Spahr Library

A-Z Databases

Find the best library databases for your research.

Loading...

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
New
Provides bibliographic information for periodicals related to the study of Italian language and literature. Includes scholarly journals as well as newspapers and magazines. Coverage: Varied. Citations Only.
Trial
Provides coverage of modern popular music worldwide, from the early 20th century to the present day. Includes the Bloomsbury Encyclopedia of Popular Music of the World; the 33 1/3 book series, which provides in-depth analysis of influential albums; and scholarly books ranging from biographies to historical overviews. Full-text. Trial available through November 30, 2017. Provide trial feedback.
New
Provides access to more than 20 of Canada’s top national and regional newspapers including The Globe and Mail and Toronto Star. Coverage: 1977-present, contains primary sources.Full text.
New
Confederate manuscripts cover all aspects of confederate military service, as well as glimpses of life on the home front, from the perspective of perspective of an army commander down to the level of the private soldier. Union Army record highlights include papers of spies, scouts, guides and detectives, including records on military discipline from courts-martial, courts of inquiry and investigations by military commissions; and records of the U.S. Colored Troops. Coverage: 1854-1870, contains primary sources. Full Text.
New
Contains personal accounts, including narratives, diaries, journals, and letters, that document the relationships among peoples in North America from 1534 to 1850. The collection provides unique perspectives from diverse groups including traders, slaves, missionaries, explorers, soldiers, native peoples, and officials, both men and women. Coverage: 1534-1850, contains primary sources. Full text.
New
Contains the contents of the Life Magazine and People Magazine archives. The Life Magazine Archive includes the very first issue of the photojournalism magazine from November 1936 through December 2000, covering politics, popular culture, and national and international events. The People Magazine Archive includes the entire contents of the popular magazine from the first issue in March 1974 through December 2000, shedding light on popular culture over those years. Coverage: 1936-2000 (varies by title), contains primary sources. Full-Text.
New
A multi-volume encyclopedia providing definitions and explanations of the key people, places, and events in ancient history. Full text.
New
Provides access to the Foreign Policy journal archive (1970-present), as well as recent online-only news content. Full Text.
Trial
Gramophone Magazine provides classical music information including in-depth interviews and features about composers and artists, past and present. Each issue includes over 100 reviews of the latest CDs, downloads, DVDs and books. Full text. Coverage: 1923- Present. Trial available through 10/21/17. Provide trial feedback.
New
HathiTrust contains books and other materials from across the disciplines and in diverse languages, with most content dating from the late 18th to the early 20th Centuries. Dickinson’s HathiTrust membership provides full-text access (with downloading) to more than 5.6 million HathiTrust volumes, and bibliographic information on millions more. Coverage: contains primary sources. See our special access instructions.
New
Contains graphic documentation of military, civil, and political life in both the Union and the Confederacy. Items include recruiting posters, cartoons, song sheets, photos, sketches, envelopes, and more. Coverage: contains primary sources. Full Text.
New
Provides journals, e-books, and research reports on environmental stresses and their impact on society. Research spans the biological sciences, business & economics, ecology, environmental sciences, law, public health, urban studies, and more. Coverage: Historic and current. Full text.
New
Provides streaming access to the television news program, Meet the Press. Includes thousands of interviews, panels, and debates with policy makers and leaders in the areas of U.S. foreign policy, economics, and politics. May be used for on-campus showings by student groups and co-curricular programs for which no admission is charged. Coverage: 1947 - 2013. Full-text.
New
Includes contemporaneous letters and diaries, oral histories, interviews, and other personal narratives from immigrants to the United States and Canada between 1800 and 1950. Coverage: 1800-1950, contains primary sources. Full text.
Trial
A peer reviewed encyclopedia covering diverse aspects of American history from colonial history through the 20th Century, including the Civil War and reconstruction, political history, economic history, women's history, the history of science & technology, labor history, environmental history, Native American history, Latino/Hispanic history, African American history, and Asian American history. Content is added and updated monthly. Full-text. Trial available through 11/01/2017.
This open access collection provides unique insights into the three major initiatives of the Reconstruction Era in American history: restoration of the Union, transformation of Southern society, and enactment of progressive legislation favoring the rights of freed slaves. Pamphlets were collected by the Department of State Library and comprise speeches, debates, political statements, legislative bills, and more. Coverage: 1865-1869 and 1877, contains primary sources. Full text.
New
Brings the 1960s alive through diaries, letters, autobiographies and other memoirs, written and oral histories, manifestos, government documents, memorabilia, and scholarly commentary. Themes include Arts, Music, Culture; Civil Rights; Counter-Culture; Law & Government; Mass & Underground Media; Science & Technology; Sexual Revolution; Student Activism; Vietnam War, and more. Coverage: 1960-1974, contains primary sources. Full Text.
New
Contains rare magazines by and for servicemen and women of all nations during the First World War. Includes over 1,500 periodicals written and illustrated by serving members of the armed forces and associated welfare organizations. Coverage: 1914 - 1919, contains primary sources. Full text.
New
Includes historic content for the leading women’s magazines Cosmopolitan, Essence, Seventeen, WIN News, and Woman's Day. Coverage: 1937 - 2005 (varies by publication), contains primary sources. Full Text.
Loading...
Loading...
title
Loading...