Skip to main content

Waidner-Spahr Library

A-Z Databases

Find the best library databases for your research.

Loading...

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
New
Searches over 1,700 arts and humanities journals, as well as selected items over 250 scientific and social sciences journals and allows the user to see what other articles have cited a chosen paper. Coverage: 1975-Present; Citations Only.
New
Provides scholarly coverage of modern popular music worldwide, from the early 20th century to the present day. Content includes the 14-volume Bloomsbury Encyclopedia of Popular Music of the World, the 33 1/3 book series, and more. Coverage: 2003 - present. Full text.
New
Contains the contents of the Life Magazine and People Magazine archives. The Life Magazine Archive includes the very first issue of the photojournalism magazine from November 1936 through December 2000, covering politics, popular culture, and national and international events. The People Magazine Archive includes the entire contents of the popular magazine from the first issue in March 1974 through December 2000, shedding light on popular culture over those years. Coverage: 1936-2000 (varies by title), contains primary sources. Full-Text.
New
A multi-volume encyclopedia providing definitions and explanations of the key people, places, and events in ancient history. Full text.
Trial
Includes historic audio recordings and supporting field materials, opening new paths for the study of music in its cultural context. Contains 2,000 hours of audio recordings from field expeditions around the world. Coverage: mostly 1960s-1980s, contains primary sources. Full-Text.
New
Provides access to the Foreign Policy journal archive (1970-present), as well as recent online-only news content. Full Text.
New
Cultivated from a series of local history books, this collection provides historical images and texts that celebrate places and people in America. Users can explore a town's history or compare the histories of towns, cultures, ethnic groups, architectural features, and more. Coverage: Historic events from 1400-present, contains primary sources. Full text.
New
An online U.S. national data and mapping tool and analytics platform with multidisciplinary applications. Provides data related to social sciences, urban studies, real estate and housing analysis, community and economic development, public administration, public health, policy and political science, education, business, economics, statistics, and geography, among others. Users can leverage U.S. data indicators to perform demographic and socioeconomic analysis, from a neighborhood census block group in many cases, up to a national level, as well as create custom regions, for their research and studies. Coverage Range: Varies, contains primary sources. Full-Text.
New
NOTE: Available to current Dickinson affiliates only. FIRST TIME USERS must register to search this database. Contact the Economics Liaison Librarian for information on how to register. A county-level hazard data set for the U.S. Covers natural hazards and perils including thunderstorms, hurricanes, floods, wildfires, tornados, flash floods, heavy rainfall, etc. Contains information on the date of an event, affected location (county and state) and the direct losses caused by the event (property and crop losses, injuries, and fatalities). Coverage: 1960-present, varies by data type. Full-Text.
New
Contains rare magazines by and for servicemen and women of all nations during the First World War. Includes over 1,500 periodicals written and illustrated by serving members of the armed forces and associated welfare organizations. Coverage: 1914 - 1919, contains primary sources. Full text.
New
Includes historic content for the leading women’s magazines Cosmopolitan, Essence, Seventeen, WIN News, and Woman's Day. Coverage: 1937 - 2005 (varies by publication), contains primary sources. Full Text.
Loading...
Loading...
title
Loading...