A collection of more than 5,000 books in the humanities and humanistic social sciences. Provides links to book reviews from major journals. Coverage: 1880s to present, contains primary sources. Full-Text.
Searches over 1,700 arts and humanities journals, as well as selected items over 250 scientific and social sciences journals and allows the user to see what other articles have cited a chosen paper. Coverage: 1975-Present; Citations Only.
Provides bibliographic information for periodicals related to the study of Italian language and literature. Includes scholarly journals as well as newspapers and magazines. Coverage: Varied. Citations Only.
Provides scholarly coverage of modern popular music worldwide, from the early 20th century to the present day. Content includes the 14-volume Bloomsbury Encyclopedia of Popular Music of the World the 33 1/3 book series, and more. Coverage: 2003 - present. Full text.
Provides English-language primary sources relating to China and the West. Contains an array of document including items relating to the Chinese Maritime Customs service; embassy reports; letters relating to the first Opium War; survivors’ descriptions of the Boxer War; missionary periodicals from 1869-1970; and glimpses of life in China from the collected diaries and personal photographs of the Bowra family. Visual materials including, color paintings, maps, photographs, drawings and ephemera by English and Chinese artists or depicting Chinese people, places, customs and events are also included. Coverage: 1793-1980; contains primary sources. Full-Text. Trial available through 2/18. Provide feedback.
Confederate manuscripts cover all aspects of confederate military service, as well as glimpses of life on the home front, from the perspective of an army commander down to the level of the private soldier. Union Army record highlights include papers of spies, scouts, guides and detectives, including records on military discipline from courts-martial, courts of inquiry and investigations by military commissions; and records of the U.S. Colored Troops. Coverage: 1854-1870, contains primary sources. Full Text.
Contains personal accounts, including narratives, diaries, journals, and letters, that document the relationships among peoples in North America from 1534 to 1850. The collection provides unique perspectives from diverse groups including traders, slaves, missionaries, explorers, soldiers, native peoples, and officials, both men and women. Coverage: 1534-1850, contains primary sources. Full text.
Contains the contents of the Life Magazine and People Magazine archives. The Life Magazine Archive includes the very first issue of the photojournalism magazine from November 1936 through December 2000, covering politics, popular culture, and national and international events. The People Magazine Archive includes the entire contents of the popular magazine from the first issue in March 1974 through December 2000, shedding light on popular culture over those years. Coverage: 1936-2000 (varies by title), contains primary sources. Full-Text.
Focused on both land and sea battle narratives of the classical world, this encyclopedia covers Archaic Greece in the eighth century BC to the rise of Islam in the seventh century AD. Provides battle narrative with specific accounts of more than 400 battles and sieges. The entries are arranged chronologically and grouped into nearly 100 larger sections of campaigns and wars. Full Text.
Includes historic audio recordings and supporting field materials, opening new paths for the study of music in its cultural context. Contains 2,000 hours of audio recordings from field expeditions around the world. Coverage: mostly 1960s-1980s, contains primary sources. Full-Text.
HathiTrust contains books and other materials from across the disciplines and in diverse languages, with most content dating from the late 18th to the early 20th Centuries. Dickinson’s HathiTrust membership provides full-text access (with downloading) to more than 5.6 million HathiTrust volumes, and bibliographic information on millions more. Coverage: contains primary sources. See our special access instructions.
Covers the history of economic thought over the period 1700–1914. Contains primary and secondary resources, including full books, selected chapters, and journal articles, as well as new thematic essays, and subject introductions on key themes. Coverage: Varied, contains primary sources. Full-Text. Trial available through March 2, 2018. Provide feedback.
Cultivated from a series of local history books, this collection provides historical images and texts that celebrate places and people in America. Users can explore a town's history or compare the histories of towns, cultures, ethnic groups, architectural features, and more. Coverage: Historic events from 1400-present, contains primary sources. Full text.
Contains graphic documentation of military, civil, and political life in both the Union and the Confederacy. Items include recruiting posters, cartoons, song sheets, photos, sketches, envelopes, and more. Coverage: contains primary sources. Full Text.
Provides journals, e-books, and research reports on environmental stresses and their impact on society. Research spans the biological sciences, business & economics, ecology, environmental sciences, law, public health, urban studies, and more. Coverage: Historic and current. Full text.
Provides streaming access to the television news program, Meet the Press. Includes thousands of interviews, panels, and debates with policy makers and leaders in the areas of U.S. foreign policy, economics, and politics. May be used for on-campus showings by student groups and co-curricular programs for which no admission is charged. Coverage: 1947 - 2013. Full-text.
Contains the Edward Sylvester Morse collection from the Peabody Museum. Morse (1838-1925) was one of the first Americans to live in Japan. He was notable for his work in natural history, ethnology, archaeology, and art history. This collection includes diaries and scrapbooks, correspondence, research files, drawings, publications and teaching materials. Coverage: 1858-1925; contains primary sources. Full-Text. Trial available through 2/18. Provide feedback.
Includes contemporaneous letters and diaries, oral histories, interviews, and other personal narratives from immigrants to the United States and Canada between 1800 and 1950. Coverage: 1800-1950, contains primary sources. Full text.
A peer reviewed encyclopedia covering diverse aspects of American history from colonial history through the 20th Century, including the Civil War and reconstruction, political history, economic history, women's history, the history of science & technology, labor history, environmental history, Native American history, Latino/Hispanic history, African American history, and Asian American history. Content is added and updated monthly. Full-text.
An online U.S. national data and mapping tool and analytics platform with multidisciplinary applications. Provides data related to social sciences, urban studies, real estate and housing analysis, community and economic development, public administration, public health, policy and political science, education, business, economics, statistics, and geography, among others. Users can leverage U.S. data indicators to perform demographic and socioeconomic analysis, from a neighborhood census block group in many cases, up to a national level, as well as create custom regions, for their research and studies. Coverage Range: Varies, contains primary sources. Full-Text.
This open access collection provides unique insights into the three major initiatives of the Reconstruction Era in American history: restoration of the Union, transformation of Southern society, and enactment of progressive legislation favoring the rights of freed slaves. Pamphlets were collected by the Department of State Library and comprise speeches, debates, political statements, legislative bills, and more. Coverage: 1865-1869 and 1877, contains primary sources. Full text.
NOTE: Available to current Dickinson affiliates only. FIRST TIME USERS must register to search this database. Contact the Economics Liaison Librarian for information on how to register. A county-level hazard data set for the U.S. Covers natural hazards and perils including thunderstorms, hurricanes, floods, wildfires, tornados, flash floods, heavy rainfall, etc. Contains information on the date of an event, affected location (county and state) and the direct losses caused by the event (property and crop losses, injuries, and fatalities). Coverage: 1960-present, varies by data type. Full-Text.
Contains diaries, letters, autobiographies and other memoirs, written and oral histories, manifestos, government documents, memorabilia, and scholarly commentary from/about the 1960s. Themes include Arts, Music, Culture; Civil Rights; Counter-Culture; Law & Government; Mass & Underground Media; Science & Technology; Sexual Revolution; Student Activism; Vietnam War, and more. Coverage: 1960-1974, contains primary sources. Full Text.
Contains rare magazines by and for servicemen and women of all nations during the First World War. Includes over 1,500 periodicals written and illustrated by serving members of the armed forces and associated welfare organizations. Coverage: 1914 - 1919, contains primary sources. Full text.
Includes historic content for the leading women’s magazines Cosmopolitan, Essence, Seventeen, WIN News, and Woman's Day. Coverage: 1937 - 2005 (varies by publication), contains primary sources. Full Text.
Offers insight into international expositions by presenting official records, monographs, personal accounts and ephemera for more than 200 fairs. Engages topics including globalization, city planning, visual culture, technology, food, and international policy. Coverage: 1880-2015; contains primary sources. Full-Text. Trial available through 2/18. Provide feedback.