Skip to main content

Waidner-Spahr Library

Resources for Alumni: List of Free Research Tools

Links to freely-available tools for online research.

Questions? Ask!

Librarians: library@dickinson.edu, or contact a liaison librarian

Circulation Desk: circ@dickinson.edu, 717-245-1397

Archives & Special Collections: archives@dickinson.edu

Chat is currently unavailable.

Ask your question via e-mail to library@dickinson.edu.

Resources

Free Public Online Resources for Dickinson Alumni

  1. Google Searches
  2. Journal Articles & Working Papers
  3. Business
  4. United States Resources
  5. International Resources
  6. Public Opinion
  7. Research Centers
  8. National & Local Libraries

Google Searches

Google Advanced Search
Use Google's Advanced Search to limit results to specific top-level domains, languages, document types, and more.

Google News
Search and limit by country, date, language, source, and more.

Google Scholar
Searches scholarly journal articles and policy papers across a myriad of disciplines from a wide variety of publishers and research institutions.

[back to top]

Journal Articles & Working Papers

bepress
Access to 600,000 publications from almost 300 institutions. Search by keyword or topic.

ROAR: the Registry of Open Access Repositories
Index of open access institutional repositories and their contents.

Directory of Open Access Journals
This service covers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals. It currently contains over 7,500 titles.

HighWire
Contains almost 1,500 journals, books, reference works & other scholarly publications.

JURN:
A curated academic search-engine, indexing over 4,000 free ejournals in the arts & humanities.

ERIC - Education Resources Information Center
Digital library of education literature provided by the U.S. Department of Education.

PLoS: Public Library of Science
Open access database of scientific research.

PubMed
Citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

SSRN: Social Science Research Network
Social Science Research Network (SSRN) contains working papers in social science, law and business/economics fields. Registration is required.

The National Bureau of Economic Research
Free access to working papers from the nation's leading nonprofit economic research organization.

RePEc (Research Papers in Economics)
Provides links to working papers and journal articles in Economics.

[back to top]

Business

bizjournals
This site features local business news from around the nation, top business stories from American City's print editions, and industry-specific news from more than 40 industries.

Bloomberg.com
News and market data.

<MarketWatch
News and commentary along with market information and historical stock quotes.

Reuters
Business and financial news.

[back to top]

United States Resources

FDsys
Online access to information from all three branches of the Federal Government.

USA.gov
Search engine and subject directory for the United States government.

Fedstats
Statistics from more than 100 U.S. federal agencies.

American FactFinder (U.S. Census)
Provides population, housing, economic and geographic data for states, cities and towns.

Thomas (Library of Congress)
Includes the full-text of Bills, Laws, the Congressional Record, Committee Reports, and much more.

OpenCongress
A project of the Participatory Politics Foundation and the Sunlight Foundation that provides official government data with news coverage, blog posts, & public comments.

[back to top]

International Resources

The World Bank Databank
Includes World Development Indicators and country profiles. Check the Data Catalog for links to other sources of data including datasets in raw format.

UNdata
Extensive data including commodity trading, energy, environment, health, global indicators, and links to international statistical agencies.

OECD iLibrary
Contains access to the OECD Factbook and other publications.

The International Monetary Fund
Publications and data including The World Economic Outlook.

World Factbook (CIA)
Provides brief factual and graphical surveys of the economic, geographic and political conditions of some 267 countries.

Background Notes (U.S. Dept. of State)
Includes information about the land, people, history, government, political conditions, economy, and foreign relations of the countries of the world.

[back to top]

Public Opinion

Pew Research Center
Provides data and analysis on the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the United States and the world.

World Public Opinion.org
Information and analysis on public opinion from around the world on international issues. Includes extensive links to additional public opinion sites, by region and topic.

World Values Survey
Data and online analysis tracking changing values across countries since 1981.

[back to top]

Research Centers

HKS Research and Policy Centers and Programs
Full-text working papers and other publications.

RAND Corporation
A non-profit research organization that publishes over 17,000 reports dating from 1948. Topics include criminal justice, national security, terrorism, international affairs, healthcare and energy.

Think Tank Search
Google custom search of the websites of over 230 U.S. and international think tanks.

[back to top]

National & Local Libraries

Library of Congress
Online collections including extensive American history resources.

National Libraries
List of national libraries around the world compiled on Wikipedia.

Presidential Libraries (National Archives)
Provides access to the web sites of Presidential Libraries from Herbert Hoover to William Clinton. Materials available electronically include selected speeches, diaries, letters, and memoranda.

WorldCat
Locate books, journals, and other material types at libraries around the world.

[back to top]

Source: HKS http://www.hks.harvard.edu/library/research/guides/?guide=beyond